Poetics Of The Day: Juleigh Howard-Hobson

Embla

I have no interest in your arches and
Your bells, your phallic spires that do not
Inspire so much as they intrude.Land


And sky was not intended to be what
Men build such interruptions on. I do
Not want to look North and see your slanted
Roofline and your cross before my eyes, to
Know that you have had your way, have planted
Your saints and your sinners in my world, that
Your stained windows corrupt my holy sun,
That your prayers tear my sacred vril. Hallstatt,
Stonehenge, Boleigh: deserted, defiled, done,
Their pagan souls attacked by your dark gods
Who came with words of love, but stayed at odds.

by Juleigh Howard-Hobson

Leave a Reply

